There are seven Sacraments recognized by the Anglican Communion of which the Anglican Church of Canada is part. The first two were appointed directly by Christ and hence are known as the two dominically appointed Sacraments. The seven Sacraments are

  • Baptism
  • The Holy Eucharist
  • Confirmation
  • Marriage (Holy Matrimony)
  • Ordination (Holy Orders)
  • Reconciliation
  • Ministry to the Sick

The Holy Eucharist is celebrated twice each Sunday and once on Wednesdays in the normal parish liturgical schedule. Baptisms take place as part of the main parish celebration of the Eucharist on Sundays. Confirmation is celebrated in a parish by a bishop. Marriages are celebrated by arrangement with the parish priest. Ordination is also an Episcopal Office, as is Confirmation.It is celebrated by bishops of the diocese. Reconciliation is available to all by arrangement with the parish priest. Ministry to the Sick is provided by a priest and can also be arranged through contact with the parish priest.

Eucharistic ministers also assist in providing Communion (by reserved sacrament) to those at home or in hospital.

To find out more, just give us a call.

*   *   *